Screenshot-2016-05-26-at-00.57.16

This week Microsoft MSFT +1.08% finally went too far. The company’s obsession with forcing as many Windows 10 upgrades as possible saw it descend into dirty tricks more typical of malware. The move has been widely condemned and even one of the company’s loyalist long term supporters labelled it a violation of trust that is “almost indescribable”.

And now Microsoft has been forced to issue a new warning to Windows 7 and Windows 8 users…

Having reversed the functionality of the ‘x’ close button to confirm rather than reject Windows 10 upgrade prompts, Microsoft has now buckled under public and media pressure to introduce a new failsafe warning prior to the installation beginning.

Windows 10 upgrade prompts now give this additional warning prior to upgrading. But using the x button to close it still acts as a confirmation. Image credit: Microsoft

In a statement issued to me the company said:

“Based on customer feedback, we’ve also added another notification that confirms the time of the scheduled upgrade and provides the customer an additional opportunity for cancelling or rescheduling the upgrade. If the customer wishes to continue with their upgrade at the designated time, they can click ‘OK’ or close the notifications with no further action needed.”

 Is this enough? Of course not.

While the additional warning is welcome and will help reduce the number of Windows 7 and Windows 8 users hoodwinked into a Windows 10 upgrade they do not want, Microsoft has still fallen short of taking the most obvious first step: returning the normal functionality of the close button. Close both the standard upgrade prompt and this new scheduling prompt using the close button and Windows 10 will still take it as two confirmations to start installing.

gwx-new-100662456-orig

New Windows 10 upgrade prompts on Windows 7 and Windows 8 turn the close button into a confirmation. Image credit: Microsoft

New Microsoft Warning For Windows 10 Worst Feature


Leave a Reply